The First Postmondernist.

Two thousand years later and we are still stuck on the same question. “What is truth?” From the time of Pontius Pilate to the here and now, we grapple with the idea of truth. For many its just to loose of an idea to pin down. For many its a solid rock that is evident to all. But I ask this. What must it take for us to understand truth? What do we think we need to fully believe? How many facts or ideas do we need to memorize to be able to grasp truth. For Pilate, not even standing face to face with God himself was not enough to know.

As Pilate questioned Jesus as to who he truly was (I can just see Pilate hoping and wishing for Jesus to just come clean with his wrong doing) Jesus replies with a swift and nimble answer. Jesus answered, “You say that I am a king. For this purpose I was born and for this purpose I have come into the world-to bear witness to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth listens to my voice.” Pilate said to him, “What is truth?” And there we have it, our first postmodernist! Standing before God in the flesh, Pilate casts doubt as to what truth even is.

So I am let wandering, am I that much different from Pilate? Do I stand in the midst of beautiful truth, truth that will free me, truth that will give life to my flesh, and I answer to it or question it. Am I guilty of throwing a shroud over Christ’s truth every time I define truth wrong? When I grab onto the “truths” of this realm instead of His truth and when I listen to a different voice rather than His, am I mocking his purpose? The only difference I see is that Pilate did not take the time to search this man. He did care to find out what he was really about other than in that minute of dialogue. If you encounter Christ my prayer is that you will take that time to know him. Seize every moment you have to understand him and the truth he came to bear wittness to. Its an opportunity to actually feel that solid rock, that firm foundation that truth really is.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

