Check Yourself.

I have grown up in a Christian home, hearing many of the same sermons in church over and over again. Yet, occasionally, I hear those messages that hit me as something I had never even thought about. You would think that I could recognize anything out of the Bible, as it has been an influence in my life for so many years.

Recently, I heard one of these messages that just threw me off. Maybe I had skimmed over the passage one day, but never had it been thrown out and explained to me. 1 Corinthians 5:9-13 says, “I have written you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people– not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world. But now I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat. What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. ‘Expel the wicked man from among you.’”

I sat there trying to figure out how many people I associate myself with, especially close friends, that say they are Christians, yet are “sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler.” I was sitting next to one of my close friends asking myself, “Does he think that of me?” How many people do you associate yourself with that are in constant sin, yet claim the name of Christ? Isn’t that degrading to His name? People that do not believe in Christ might look at the “church” full of immorality and assume that sin is accepted. It seems harsh for us to completely distance ourselves from these relationships, but God calls us to be holy. Check your friends. Check yourself. “And as for you, brothers, never tire of doing what is right.” –2 Thessalonians 3:13

1 Comment

  1. This is tough but true. Many times i find myself associating with people who do just that, say but do not act. This should only motivate us to not be hypocites, but live what we preach.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

