Call to Arms/Want to Help?

I’m currently engaged in debate with fitnessfortheoccasion right now, and one of our current topics is whether religion has any place in government. This blog is not so much to give my own opinion as it is to see what you guys have to say. Do you believe that separation of church and state is a good thing for our government? Do think that religion should be a part of all government action? Does your opinion fall somewhere in between those two extremes? If you’re in anyway interested in answering those questions, please do so, and also include why you believe what you do. That being said, I was going to say what I thought about the subject, but on further consideration I have changed my mind, because I don’t want my opinion to influence your answer. I will share my beliefs on the subject, but I guess it’ll have to wait till I get some comments, if I do get comments. I also wanted to ask another important question on the subject of religion in government. I made a remark about religion being rampant in our nation’s founding, and fitness disagreed with me. So what do you think? Did religion play a part in how our government was created? And if so, how?

I sincerely appreciate anything you guys have to offer on any of the topics mentioned above, and everyone is invited to respond. So please do. 

4 Comments

  1. Hi, great topic and cool blog!

    actually, separation of church and state is to protect the church from the government not the other way around. Our founding fathers knew that a government and religion (faith) mix is harmful to religion. Evidence can be found in almost every major society prior to America (i.e. Rome and 1700s England).

    Keep up the posts!

    http://politicsandreligion.wordpress.com

  2. Religion should be a part of government action. Ronald Reagan once said “…without God, democracy will not and cannot endure. If we ever forget that we’re one nation under God, then we will be a nation gone under.” Religion did play a part in the creation of our government. Thomas Jefferson, the man known for the “Wall of Separation,” once asked, “Can the liberties of a nation be thought secure when we have removed their only firm basis, a conviction in the minds of people that these liberties are a gift of God?”

  3. I think that it is great to remember that religion played a part in our founding but is religious integration something that is practical in today’s society? Politics and religion are like oil and water…THEY DON’T MIX! (sorry for the cliche, i just couldn’t resist) What religion are we talking about. Christianity? Catholicism? Buddhism? Obviously, we could not integrate all of the different belief systems into our government action as they are all different. From a country that preaches freedom of religion wouldn’t it be hypocritical to claim one religion that we should follow?

  4. I believe heartily in separation of church and state, because of what I have seen in history I have found that the power of God in man’s hands ends in abuse. Think of the rule Roman Catholicism had and Absolute Despotism. The only person these rulers had to answer to was God, and they twisted His words lik a stretch Armstrong doll.

    As for your second question: Yes and No. No, because the framers of our Constitution remembered what I was just talking about, and they wanted to avoid that.
    Yes, because we find God in documents such as the Declaration of Independance, coined on our money, and in our pledge and anthem. Even though our Constitution does not say it, some of its laws are even derived from morals given in the Bible. While many beleive that we are “imposing our beliefs” on them, it is infact our founders. In that case questioning it would be difficult because as far as I know none of them are around anymore.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

