Are We There Yet?

So here I am, sitting at my computer, wondering what to type. This is actually the second time I’ve sat down at the computer to type this blog, because the first yielded nothing. Why? Because I’m having trouble being motivated. It’s the end of school, we have like six weeks left, and most of us already know where we’re going to college. So at this point school seems pointless. I know however, that it isn’t. Education is still important, no matter how close you are to completing it. If anything, it’s more important because you’re at the end. Finish the race that has been set before you, don’t give up right before you break the tape.

As I reflect on my current state, I am reminded of two passages of the Bible. The first I actually discovered this morning as I was doing a devotional on Proverbs 13. Specifically, Proverbs 13:4 spoke to me, and it goes something like this: “The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.” This verse is pretty easy to understand. Those who work hard get rewarded, while lazy people get nothing but problems. Simple right? Yet we forget this principle quite often. We forget the importance of hard work in our lives, and thus we also forget the rewards. Don’t.

The second verse that I though about comes from Colossians 3:23, which states, ” Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men” So often we forget why we exist. We forget why we live. We forget why we work. It’s all for the glory of God, and that’s why it’s so important that we continue to try so hard at whatever we do, even when we have the opportunity to slack. So press on. Not for you, but for our blessed Father in Heaven.

Source: God

2 Comments

  1. I kind of hate you for writing this, because i know that you are right. We think more about ourselves that how we can glorify God. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Thanks, now i don’t have an excuse…

    But i thank you…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

