Good Friday

I was driving down to Chapman University yesterday thinking about the truth and reality of Good Friday. This sacrifice that Christ made saved my life and made me pure. Without His death on the cross I would be looking forward to eternal damnation in hell. Guilt, shame, and regert are all familiar as I think about what Christ endured for me. Can you even grasp the image of being crucified for so many people, most you have never even seen before? At the same time, I am relieved that He bore my punishment.
Two years ago, during the passion week, I was in the Philippines. Their belief that man has to take Christ’s pain upon themselves allowed me to witness floggings. Two years later, something clicked. I am so thankful for my faith and a Savior that was willing to take the sin and burdens of the world upon Himself so that we may live. What if every Good Friday, we went out into the streets with others and flogged ourselves? The magnitude of Christ’s sacrifice is evident as His one sacrifice saved all believers.

1 Comment

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time
    a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks a lot!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

