STOP, THINK, LISTEN, RESPOND

I was blessed with my 1st theological argument this weekend.  I was awoken by the knocking of my front door.  As i approached it, there stood before me two elderly women holding 3 pieces of paper.  First thing I noticed was the big “JEHOVAH’S WITNESSES.”  At that point i knew a theological debate was in order.

The conversation preceded with her explaining her purpose of why she was talking to me.  The papers were used to follow in scripture to bring me to my salvation according to her.  She then asked if I had ever read then Bible.  I then responded with my experience of my daily Bible reading and my 6 years of Bible class and the last two specifically on theology.  She was stunned by my answer, and as a response I began to ask her some questions on her faith.  She persisted to answer and gave me her views of her religion.  There were immediate contradictions in our faith and I began to inform her of those and also explained to her about her religion. 

What exactly was said is not the important part.  What is truly ideal is the fact that we as people need to be non conforming to whatever we may hear and see.  We must ask questions and become knowledgeable of the outside sources so that we may be equipped with intellectual fact.  I have been blessed to have received the teaching from my high school career and it will help me proceed throughout my life.  We must stop and think, knowledge is power.

2 Comments

  1. Convicting, because i wonder if i would know the right things to say. encouragement to diligently study the Word and rely on the Holy Spirit.

  2. Though I’m glad you were bold to speak to this Jehovah’s Witness, I disagree with your comments as well as your perspective.

    “I was blessed with my 1st theological argument this weekend.” “What exactly was said is not the important part… We must ask questions and become knowledgeable of the outside sources so that we may be equipped with intellectual fact.”

    You forget that you were dealing, not with an academic debate over intellectual facts, but a human soul that is lost and condemned to hell by their beliefs. The goal is not to win by pointing out their errors and do a victory dance in the end zone when they acknowledge it. It is to “speak the truth in love,” desiring that they repent and cry out to God for mercy through Jesus Christ. Is it “a blessing” that you got to show off some of your Bible knowledge to some woman at your door or is it a tragedy that a woman left your house still condemned to hell by the deceptions that she believes? We ought to grieve over the lost, pleading with God that he might save them through our feeble attempts to explain the truth, not view them as adversaries to fight off like Chad Kackert shedding linebackers, high stepping for the end zone of intellectual triumph.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

