Emotions. Are they Neccesary?

For you today, I have no analysis of an issue or description of a problem.  I have a question for you.  Why emotions?  Why did God create us with emotions?  I know the many theological answers to this issue.  Our emotions help us to better understand the God who created them.  Without our emotions we would not be living.  We would only be puppets or drones that have no likes or dislikes.  Sometimes in my life, especially after emotionally painful periods, I do not look badly on this emotionless life.  Would it be so bad to not hurt, to not cry, to not feel pain at the cost of feeling happiness and joy.  Sometimes I think not.  Life is full of pain, and many times in this world filled with horrible people, that pain seems unbearable and the cost of happiness does not seem to high. 

 I know this sounds extremely morbid.  I wouldn’t usually write these things however it has been a rough week that would have been better if not felt.  Please respond with your thoughts and ideas about this subject.

4 Comments

  1. “Behind you is the confusion of dissapointments, in front of you is the confusion of anticipating things that have not yet arrived in their proper time. Only in here and now is there clarity. Enjoy the moment with clear awareness and knowledge that God is in you, and everything around you. I hope this helps you as much as it once helped me. I will pray for you.

  2. I agree that emotions like anger, jealousy and sadness are not welcome, but if we had no emotions we would miss out on a lot. To be unable to experience love and joy would be a very depressing life. I hope that you have a better week, and I will be praying for you.

  3. Logic is what runs the universe, God is constant, matter is constant, gravity is constant, and time is constant. Emotions are not, however emotions are merely derived from actual experiences with the constants of this world. Therefore emotions based correctly in response the constants of the world, most importantly God, are very acceptable and often necessary.

  4. I’m sorry you had such a hard week. But try to remember that God has a plan for you and that you might be experiencing this so you can grow in Him or learn something. It may be hard now, but just put your trust and faith in God and He will guide you. I’ll be praying for you.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

