The Older We Are the More Complicated

 How many of you have ever sat down and though about your childhood.  Thought how glorious it was to be ignorant.  Do you remember the unfathomable “walk to school” when we were kids, that is now really a short walk in our adulthood.  Do you ever find yourself missing that walk to school.  Missing the simplicity of life that was indicative of our innocence.  We all have stories of our escapades through the woods, if they be real or suburban, that would entertain us for hours.  Now we must find such complex ridiculous things to take our minds off the responsibilities that drag us down by the shoulders into breakdown.  We all remember the days of our homes being a sancturay rather than another feat for us to climb in our treck to adulthood.  I find myself constantly pining for that innocence.  I constantly miss the days long gone where even an ice cream cone brightened my day.  I miss the days where Cat Dog, Inspector Gadget, Duck Tales, Thundercats, Doug and his alias Quailman, and Rocko’s Modern Life made me happy.  When did life sneak up on me, poke me in the back and say, “I’m difficult now. Deal with it.”

Today all we face is the last stand before the rest of our lives.  We face graduation, college, bills, work, etc and I honestly don’t want to do it.  I want to experience these things.  I want to grow up and become my own person.  I want to experience the world.  Please don’t get me wrong.  However I do not want the pressures associated with them.  I want to enjoy life, not be subject to it, and yet many times it feels I am being drug along by the cosmos.

To sum up my ramblings, all I want is a simpler existence however I know that this will never happen which is a difficult term to face.  Everyone must realize that life will not always be what we want it to be.  It won’t always be easy for us to deal with, but we must.  Although it is so difficult, we must steel ourselves against the pain and exhaustion to fight through.  We must win.

Thundercatsrocko6ex.jpgbatman1.jpgx-men1.jpg

5 Comments

  1. Agreed. something that i have thought about as well. it’s funny that our lives could be simpler if we actually tried to make them so.

  2. You are not alone, Deuce. Most of us know exactly how you feel. Ignorance, in a sense, is bliss. I long for the days of Ninja Turtles and Transformers, when I didn’t know about God’s election or total depravity. I long for the days when I could run around touting a pirate sword all day instead of worrying about my next test in class x or seeing if I got accepted to so-and-so college. It’s hard. But it is also very necessary and good, because we learn to appreciate the simple joys we took for granted so much more. Often, you only miss something once it’s taken from you… The same could be said for innocence.

  3. Ahhh, but Election makes TMNT so much more exciting. If it was a completely random happening upon radioactive slime then it is tragic but if God was superintending that slime to transform four adolescent turtles into the crime fighting dynamic foursome that they are, then it is a blessing.

    And Total Depravity has the same effect on making TMNT make sense. The turtles were useless in their natural state (depraved, uncapable of effectively fighting evil.) But upon being transformed (regenerated) by the radioactive slime (cautiously metaphorized, the Holy Spirit) they become progressively better crime-fighters (sanctification.)

    How’s that for a pomo interpretation of both the Doctrines of Grace and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles….

  4. You guys are not alone in this, the Apostle Paul felt the “pain and exhaustion” of the “pressures of life,” but he took a different perspective than pulling up your bootstraps, putting on your helmet, and holding on for dear life.

    “For we were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead. He delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will deliver us again” (I Corinthians 1).

    Ask Earnest Hemmingway, Nietschze, and Richard Dawkins, undoubtedly, the struggles and suffering in this life will lead to despair. Paul felt it, but also knew the rescue found in truly and experientially relying on God. Despairing circumstances taught him not to rely on his own strength, steel, or understanding “but on God who will deliver us.”

  5. I cant quite follow up and top the previous 2 comments but I must say I totally agree. Our generation or at least the friends I have respond in three different ways, they either take on the responsibilities ahead of them and never look back, take them on and still have time to reflect and even interact with the past leisures of childhood, or always stay a kid with no goals or responsibilities for life. It is a hard choice, and one I wish I never have to make, but it is part of life and I believe that we all are handling the situation maturely.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

